Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Graduation

(18/6/23)

I woke up and went straight to my desk. I'd seen a flood of 55 invoices last night. Today, that number was up to 66. No problem. I set to coding them so they can be on their way.

We had to pop out to Festival City, mainly because I wanted the car washed inside and out for tonight. IKEA have a good (and reasonably priced) manual car wash service. We went to M&S whilst there. G got herself a top for tonight, and I looked at trousers.

I managed to finish all my invoices before I had to stop and get ready. Davide's graduation is at school, so I dropped G off. She took the camera with her and got some shots.

I managed to get a replacement handset for the faulty phone I got last week. There was plenty of time for a gentle drive to the hotel, where Davide's parents invited G (and a friend) to join them for dinner. The Address Beach Resort is a posh, over-the-top hotel that is typical of Dubai. Stunning and over-priced (the lobby lounge has signs on the tables informing folk that the minimum spend is £35 per person. Hmmm. I guess G & me won't be going there for a coffee.

I finally got to meet Davide and his parents - after eight years of G working with him. The Mondini's chose Via Toledo to dine - a Michelin-star Italian restaurant with views of Blue Water and the Dubai Eye. To finish, we went up to the 77th floor to see the infinity pool, which makes up half of the floor, and the view of Palm Jumeirah (my extra) and JBR. It was spectacular. Fortunately, I had my new phone with me. It has a special night setting.

We were home just after midnight, tired but glad the day had gone so well. For G, it is the start of a new phase - one she's been looking forward to for years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.