Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Avocet

After my work in the garden yesterday I decided I'd earned a day out (it seemed a good excuse, anyway) so I had a trip to Lymington.  Not a long one, like last time, I spent half the time sitting on a bench drinking coffee, eating icecream and talking to a sweet old guy who lives in the town.  But I'd had my eye on the avocets for a couple of weeks.  There are a number living and feeding in one of the nearest lakes (well, ex-salt works, actually).  It did mean shooting through a wire fence, but this one was in a channel of water just outside the fence.

Do look at the legs.  I've read them described as 'lead-coloured', but to me they look almost blue.

In extras is a second shot, closer up, as a contrast.

Really not much else to report.  We did get some rain yesterday evening and in the night, but not a lot and now we're back to the heat.  So sadly I will need to water the garden again tonight. Happy days..

Enjoy your Monday evening/Tuesday morning  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.