pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Father's Day

The Eldest’s grandfather on her mother’s side died today.

He hadn’t been well for a while which meant that the last few weeks had been prolonged agony for that side of the family. It was horrible to be so powerless to help, but I’m so proud of how The Eldest has responded to it all, particularly as she was right in the middle of her exams.

That he slipped away on Father’s Day was the cruellest of ironies for my ex-wife, and my heart and a few tears went out to her. Her father was an absolute gentleman, had a deep, infectious love of jazz and in my mind always had a broad smile on his friendly face.

The Eldest phoned me with the news first thing, so we talked it through and then finished up by swapping some more light hearted and funny stories about her grandfather to try and raise a smile. He will be sorely missed.

Feeling rather flat and still struggling with a heavy head (definitely not drink related), we headed out for a delicious breakfast where I was treated to a plate of pancakes covered in fruit and syrup washed down with an ice cold glass of fresh orange juice. 

Later on we popped up to my sister’s to check on my investment see my brother in law’s new crowdfunded pizza oven in action. He’d done his homework and prepared well (the dough was proving as we arrived) before showing it off and cooking his maiden pizza (pictured here).

His work paid off well, as it was absolutely delicious and with some fizzy wines and drinks in hand, we raised a glass to the departed. I also apologised to my father for forgetting his card…

The day finished up in the company of the wee ones and with the weather turning, we all agreed that a lazy afternoon was in order.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.