Marionb

By Marionb

What Evil Lurks.....

...under the dock? Yikes....I have never been concerned about the beaver who used to snooze under there frequently, or the muskrat that others have seen, or the huge dock spider who has kept me company on different occasions, but a snapping turtle? Really? With those claws? And is that where the big snake came from? From under the dock?  We swim off those docks..so what is lurking in the water is of interest ...  

I do jest though as we have always had snapping turtles, but everything time I see one, I am amazed at how prehistoric (and scary) they look..and yes they can be aggressive if provoked..so best not to provoke them! ( for a better photo of him, see the extra.)

In Ontario, the snapping turtle is the largest turtle in Ontario and is designated of "Special Concern" as its population is declining... meaning that it is not yet "threatened" or "endangered" but could become so... So...it seems we have a responsibility to protect this rather unwelcome visitor and I guess if he wants to live under the dock, we should let him...

I had quite a day of photo-ops..I was out in the canoe early this morning and came across a deer wading in the water along the shoreline in the back bay, and of course, I did not have my camera with me in case of tipping the canoe, so photo-op missed! But still a real treat....

Later, I spent some time sitting in the sun down by the docks trying to get some photos of the hummingbirds - which is always a challenge and success often depends on which way the bird is facing..as the collage (extra) shows..Those fabulous colours do not show up unless the sun hits them! One turn of the head and the vibrant colours flash; another turn of the head and they disappear! Apparently the deliberate flashing of their colour display is part of the mating ritual? Fascinating...

Monsieur le Duck returned for his dinner this evening...A phoebe is nesting in a niche in the porch roof..and our lone chipmunk chirped all day - I know not why..perhaps he is lonely? There were three last year and so far, I have seen only one...hmmm. 

Oh yes, another treat of the day? As I made my way out to the guest cabin in the dark tonight ....Fireflies! Wow..It has been years since I have seen fireflies...

What a neat day! Sunshine, calm waters, the local fauna providing entertainment and photo-ops galore! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.