Marionb

By Marionb

Spoiled for Choice..

So many lovely creatures posed for photos today...I could not choose which was the fairest or most beautiful or which deserved its moment in the sun...The choice of critters here on this tiny island is somewhat limited so repeat blips of herons, hummingbirds and songbirds are going to be necessary, but I chose to delay that and picked the dragonfly.. whose photo really wasn't meant to be a photo! 

Not having binoculars handy,  I was using my camera zoom to see what that dark blob on the water was and behold!  A dragonfly on a tiny lily pad! Who knew? So I snapped it. 

And of course, it is blurry..because it was far away and the light of day was fading; I was sitting on a floating dock using the maximum zoom range - which the camera dealer advised me to never do..that I would probably never need the telephoto range the camera offered, and if I did, I would need a tripod.. SO, add in" hand-held"...and of course, the photo is blurry..BUT, I like it because it almost looks like a watercolour painting! 

And as I said, I just could not choose which of the other creatures was the fairest (extra) ...I could easily pick out the one who was not...poor thing...and if that photo had not been blurry too, I just might have given him the spotlight.. A pretty face is not everything..one should look beyond appearances to find beauty, right?

Good news on the Lone Mallard front...I spotted the female with her nine(!) youngsters cruising along the far shore - again with my camera zoom - should really put binoculars in my dock bag...SO..it seems the family is intact..no divorce...well, maybe..I noted that he was in absentia..not helping out with the kids..hmmm..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.