Marionb

By Marionb

Sitting on the dock...

..was not a great plan today..It was really too hot, especially where there was not a breeze.  

I did get out in the canoe earlier though..water as smooth as glass is the perfect time for me to venture out with a paddle; once even a light breeze comes up, I spend more time trying to line up the canoe with the dock to land, than I do paddling around the bay! In a stronger breeze, the canoe seems to take on a life of its own, going where it wants to..or at least where the wind wants it to go, and I am not skilled enough to power my way through that! 

I  spent the rest of the day retreating from the sun, not hanging out on the dock with my camera looking for subject matter; consequently, my only wildlife encounter today was with a toad in the shower! 

Yes, a toad..in the shower - these things can happen when you have an outdoor shower. Anyway, there he was..huddled in the corner, seemingly afraid to move. Of course, I went back to the cabin to get my camera.. why miss a possible blip? I expected he would escape in my absence but he did not...I kept trying to encourage him to get out, and he did try, but upon reaching the shower curtain, he took refuge there and stayed to observe the proceedings! 

An outdoor shower is actually a fun thing.. We used to have an indoor one, but it never got used...so we took it out; everyone seemed to prefer showering in the great outdoors! It is somewhat of a challenge though late in the fall when the air is frosty and the wind is blowing, but even then, it is still a fun experience..One drawback is that you have to make sure no fishermen in boats have, unbeknownst to you, entered the back bay and are fishing within range of witnessing your exit from the shower! 

Anyway, other than a toad encounter, it was a slow day action-wise, a day of lounging in the shade, drinking lots of water, watching tv, reading, and missing the AC I am so used to back home!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.