Marionb

By Marionb

Behold the Gold!

Oh How I have missed fabulous, colourful sunsets and sunrises...For whatever reason, I saw nary a one while away on vacation, and when I returned, there seemed to be a haze over everything; maybe some of that wildfire smoke never left? Whatever, there have been no awe-inspiring glowing skies to rush out and enjoy..Well, today there was one..at last! And it ended a really enjoyable day for me here at the cottage. 

So far, I have been spending most of my time here observing and welcoming back the local wildlife residents..today the merganser and the Canada geese made their first appearance  ...which has been fun, but I have not had much interaction with people! Today was a nice change. People are better conversationalists!

I started the day chatting with my book club friends, on Zoom of course,  supposedly about our latest book, Remarkably Bright Creatures by Shelby Van Pelt, but mostly just catching up. We needed a lot more time than our free zoom call allows to talk about things like our recent vacations and especially Pat's evacuation from an out-of-control wildfire, but it was still good to see everyone face-to-face again. By the way, we all loved the book - which seldom happens in our little group! You can take that as a recommendation...

Then this afternoon, my brother came for dinner (extra) and we had a pleasant and relaxing evening, just the two of us, sitting on the front deck, chatting, sipping some wine, playing with our little chipmunk and admiring how the fading light was playing on the water, creating reflections and patterns in the pollen..and creating a warm glow on the far shore...There was promise in that light..it was beginning to look more like our sunsets used to look...the ones we both have missed!

Well, that promise was fulfilled, but it was not until after my brother left for his own cottage, that the sky came on fire ...I do hope he saw it from his own deck after he got home!  

PS: The Mallard Mom of Nine, came to dine under the bird feeders this evening..alone! ( in extra) Perhaps she got a sitter? or maybe Dad took over to give her a night out? Whatever, she seemed in no hurry to get back home and lounged about on the shore for a while afterward! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.