TrishaR

By TrishaR

My Very Special Grandson

The other one is special too, but it’s Cameron’s moment.

We went to Drummond Castle Gardens today. Imagine, I’ve lived in beautiful Perthshire all my life and never been to these gardens before. As my mum said we have passed the sign in the road from Blackford to Crieff , just after Muthill many times but never went. I suppose when you g I wouldn’t have really appreciated them. After all I had farms, hills and woods to play in when that age.

Anyway, today we went, on a superb summers day and enjoyed the unusual sundial cost of 32 quid in the 1600 hundreds and the stunning gardens which have been used in Outlander and Rob Roy. The trees are something else. There was a little place where we had coffee and a sandwich sitting overlooking the gardens.

Had to get back for 3pm so I could get some pictures of Cameron in his kilt, all set for the 6th year Prom. Oh, how smart he looked. The kilt is a FRACTION too short but a bigger size would swamp his skinny waist. My heart swelled. But I am glad his hair has grown a bit since he took the drastic measure of shaving it himself a month ago! Lol

Picture taken, I dropped him off at his friend Aiden and I think they went to the Cherrybank for a cider before getting the bus from the academy to the hunting tower hotel…

Seemingly they are allowed three drinks each. How that is policed I have no idea- my neighbour’s son was there two years ago and said it was carnage at the end with some having to go to A and E - eeek.

The extra is Cameron and Charlotte, friends since birth, their mum friends since meeting at a mum and baby class where they were both sent out of class due to their babies crying too much . I laugh at this - imagine this happening nowadays. They were made to feel like pariahs but these two have been a credit two both families - academically high achievers and kind and caring kids. I remember before primary school Cameron’s Dad wanted to send him to a public school and Laura said no, there is no need for that. His dad didn’t have that but his new wife did and sent their kids to be privately educated. Turns out that Jack, her son from a previous marriage who was sent to St Leonard’s in St Andrews was asked to leave after 4th year and go to state school Madras cos his grades weren’t good enough and it would affect their rating . Shit! That’s unreal. It just shows that you don’t need to fork out thousands!

Anyway, there you are. From P1 at Viewlands to the end of 6th year at the Academy. To me it seems like it has passed in the flash of an eye. Another milestone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.