DDW

By DDW

Fog, Rain, and Black Sand Beaches

As we anchored off the port of Djupivogur, Iceland this morning, all we could see from our window was thick fog.  Nonetheless, we bundled up in our waterproof outer layers and boarded a Zodiac to go ashore for a lengthy hike over hill and dale to a beautiful black sand beach.

Unfortunately, it absolutely bucketed down with a cold rain, and the fog was reluctant to lift.  That, combined with some rocky terrain made for a bit of a slog -- especially as my glasses were rain-spattered and when I put my hood up, they also fogged up, making it quite a challenge to see anything at all!

Well, I suppose I really can't complain -- we have had the most extraordinarily good weather almost the whole cruise! 

Extra:  Hikers with misty lupines.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.