Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

A tender moment

I was spoiled for choices today but finally decided that this is the shot I wanted to mark the day.  I was unable to count the number of Downy Woodpeckers careening around the garden and woods today but definitely multiple families.  Some of the fledglings starting to forage for themselves while others are still being fed by dutiful parents, like this one. The larger bird here is the baby (bottom) while the mother (above) is showing a lot of wear.  These little woodpeckers only raise one brood a year and it's kind of easy to see why - mom and dad wouldn't likely survive a second brood!  

The shot in Extra is of a chipmunk whose posture depicts exactly how I felt at one point this morning while trying to set up all the menu items on my z8.  There was one part I literally had to read 5 times until it finally sunk in.
I found a good stopping point for the day and spent the rest of my time shooting.  I love how much I can catch shooting 20 fps - yes, reviewing the images takes longer but I find shots like this which make me very, very happy.  This camera really excels at catching action and I can see why it's touted as an outstanding camera for wildlife and sports.  Eventually I will try its in-camera focus stacking on macro, but for now I am happy to work on mastering its many features for wildlife.  

Jax has been very chill today - content to nap on the sofa while I was outside under the canopy shooting in the rain.  He hates being in the rain.

Our little Phoebe cat is slowing down - she's 16 now and is definitely showing signs of arthritis. That said, she seems happy and mostly comfortable so we will continue to stay the course with the joint supplements, the thyroid meds and the extra cuddles.  Jax is very sweet with her, almost as if he understands that she's more fragile than Charlie.  

Dark with sea salt and almonds today.  

xo
Debbi    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.