Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

1/2000th of a second

That is how fast the shutter was firing and it still wasn't  enough to freeze the wings of this female ruby-throated hummer.  In general, I find 1/2500 or 1/3200 to be about right to freeze the action on hummingbirds although sometimes even faster is better.  I actually think this may be a juvenile female since her feathers appear to be in rather pristine condition which would be unusual for an adult female this time of year.  

I am still working through all of the programable shooting controls on the z8.  I am taking it slowly and trying things out as I go.  In this instance, I was shooting Wide area with eye/animal detection activated and I quickly switched to 3D tracking to follow the hummingbird.  Seems to have worked pretty well.  

It rained all morning and then the skies cleared, the sun came out and the humidity soared!  Welcome to summer in the northeast US - hot and sticky.  But not as hot and sticky as the southeastern states and for that I am grateful.  Jax and I retired to the air conditioned indoors after about an hour.  

I had a nice FT chat with my parents this morning and all is well with them.  They went to the OR coast yesterday and it sounds like they had a very good time even though it was only in the 50's on the coast.  

Hubs is planting a holly shrub out front which will complete our summer landscaping project for now.  The shrub is male/female so it will produce berries.  And it makes me wonder - whose job is it to sex trees and plants?

Thunderstorms moving around our area so won't be trying to take Jax for a walk this afternoon.  He's doesn't seem to be especially bothered by thunder but he hates being wet.  I'm not fond of it either.

Dark with ginger again today.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.