Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Kicked to the Curb

This is the male of a brood of two cardinals that fledged several weeks ago.  Both he and his sister have been fed by their sire, while the female attended to starting a second nest.  Dad has also been teaching them to fend for themselves and today apparently was the day that both youngsters were kicked to the curb.  Dad was seen chasing both of them which is always both comical and somewhat heart-rending at the same time.  It's fairly easy to tell the genders of the fledglings at this stage as you can see the reddish orange patches that will eventually be a brilliant red.  The female fledgling is a subdued beige with just the barest hints of orange in her plumage.  

The yard has been extremely busy today, which I needed to distract myself from other events.  There are multiple pairs of nuthatches feeding fledglings up in the trees - they've been keeping things orderly, in true nuthatch fashion.  Meanwhile, there are fledgling downy woodpeckers everywhere.  They careen wildly around the garden, occasionally hitting windows, walls and other solid objects although never traveling at enough speed to get hurt.  The red-bellied youngsters are still keeping to the trees other than short circuits around the garden.  And young hummingbirds are also starting to show up - they are just as contentious as their parents so the chasing and chattering is escalating.  The biggest event in the garden was seeing a male bluebird checking out the patio nest box.  I think it's the same male who raised the spring brood.  He's been by several times during the day and is singing, so signs are positive.  It would be wonderful if they raised a second brood here - usually I only get one brood.  

I am deeply troubled by the ruling of the Supreme Court today.  Roe v. Wade was decided the year I graduated from High School and I remember when several girls I knew got pregnant  prior to that and had to seek illegal abortions.  It was terrifying and dangerous.  When the SCOTUS decided this in 1973, I don't think anyone ever imagined a scenario in which the decision of a seated Supreme Court would later be overturned by a different Supreme Court.  It opens up a Pandora's box of possibilities, none good.  I think I have been naive over the years to think that judges are really able to set aside their own ideologies and beliefs and decide cases purely on legal doctrine.  Or maybe this is just one more sign of a country that is deeply and dangerously divided.  I am sad today, and I am very worried about the statement by Justice Thomas about other decisions that may be re-visited by this Court.  This isn't intended to start any sort of debate on the issue of abortion; it is a bigger issue that has to do with how constitutional law is interpreted by the judges who are supposedly the best of the best.  

I'm doubling down of the dark today.  And I am having virtual cocktails with my besties soon.  And then I'll cuddle up with Hubs, Jax and the cats and watch some mindless television.  Tomorrow will be another day and I will work on improving my attitude before then!

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.