Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

An amazing day

I've just had a lovely day.  I have a 'significant' birthday next month, but we will be away on the actual day.  W told me this morning that we were going to go out this afternoon and that I had to wear something reasonably smart, so I surmised that she was probably taking me for afternoon tea somewhere.  I was right; she drove us to the superb and Michelin starred Morston Hall.

The lovely surprise though, was that when we went in, our friends B, G & M were there, and also G & S, friends from the Milton Keynes area who I have known for nearly 50 years!  W planned this a while ago and when they were invited they immediately booked a holiday cottage in the area for a week away.

After a very good afternoon tea we came back to our house (and were joined by G & S's dog Robson) and have been sitting in the garden drinking champagne and having a good old chat.  And even though it's not actually my birthday for a couple of weeks, I've got some superb presents!

All in all, a great day and a lovely surprise.  Thank you to W for all the effort that has gone in to organising all of this for me.  I took a quick snap of Morston Hall as we were leaving so that is my blip for the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.