Flossmo

By Flossmo

Afternoon tea

I spent the morning at my desk then, after a quick snack I set off for my friend P's for afternoon tea together with some of my fellow printmakers. It had originally been planned as a discussion of our exhibition opportunities but in the event it became more of an existential discussion - how much longer we will have a studio and if/when it closes what will do.

In truth there is almost certainly no if,  only when. To complicate matters further, the owners of the studio do not wish to engage with us the members to discuss future options. My view is and has been for some time that we the members should shape our own future. Others feel that that would be disloyal. In fairness shaping our own future is difficult and I'm not sure that everyone shares a common vision anyway. The eternal triangle of cost, quality (of the facilities) and time (ie availability for use) is different for different people. We had a good moan but didn't move forward a millimetre. But the strawberry cake was absolutely delicious, thanks to our hostess.

By the time I left and dropped one of the others back home it was after six and the roads were mercifully quiet, much more so than they had been when I set out at a quarter to two. Rush hour has definitely moved.        

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.