Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Celebration

(24/6/23)

Another back-blip! I downloaded the pictures for the day but couldn't stay awake to write a journal.

It has been an emotionally draining day. Cultural differences in the workplace have landed me in a bit of trouble again, but this time my line managers are backing me.

I was glad to finish work and head to the SA meeting. The meeting had a different format today on account of celebrating thirteen years of being in the region. Margaret organised a "Songs of Praise" style evening where we all chose our favourite hymn and got to say why. G & I both chose songs with Irish tunes - she chose "I Cannot Tell," and I chose "Be Thou My Vision".

The cake we enjoyed after the meeting looked worse for wear, but it was delicious. It was accompanied by samosas and juice- just the same as what I had earlier at work when we celebrated a colleague's birthday! G & I have eaten really badly today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.