Capital adventures

By marchmont

Illetas 1

A bad night. I think my back was reacting to the chair at the pizzeria. Whatever, I couldn't sleep comfortably for a long time. Then I woke with a start and leapt out of bed as I thought my phone was on BST, not Mallorcan time. However, it meant I breakfasted early. The MSC Seaview was gone to be replaced by another couple of cruise ships.

I did some work emails (there have been developments that require attention) and then off on the bus to Illetas. It was hot and barely 11.

Bit of a struggle funding the right key but after unpacking I went down to the wee supermarket to get some food. Y says it has 'everything'. Depends on your definition. Tuna, eggs and salad, oh and wine. Maybe I should have gone into Carrefour at Porto Pi but then again maybe not. I also went down to the beach. I don't remember the beach club but it is 11/12 years. The beach, as expected, was packed.

I decided the pool was a better option so had a look but decided to stay out of the midday sun. Sat on the balcony, drank beer, sewed, had lunch then to the pool after 2. Later nearly 6 I did go to the beach. It was getting quieter and I swam. First time in the sea since Thailand in January 2020. 

Once back I made dinner and realised my sunglasses case was missing. Left on the beach probably. Watched the planes from the balcony. This is not a quiet place. The flight path goes right across the bay and there are planes every 90 seconds. Then the #4' bus goes along the road below and the bendy buses slow and brake as they round the corner immediately in front of the apartment. And there are cars and people going by. But the view is nice.

It was 28 deg here at 9 as the sun went down, at 24 in Liberton. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.