The second half of life..

By twigs

Back to reality

So much for it being a rainy ol' weekend.......stunning day today. Beautiful blue skies, warm sunshine......17 degrees according to the tv weather this evening......a lovely day to be out and about in the garden.

The leaves from the tree the council so wisely planted many years ago have been mounting up. It's not quite so bad if it remains rain-free but the prospect of more rain tomorrow raises the fear of drains blocking and flooding. We've had it before - more than once - and whilst I escaped any damage, neighbours certainly didn't. Nothing for it then but to get to work with the rake.

It took about an hour so not too bad, but what to do now with all the leaves that I've piled up along the berm? In past years I've called the council to come and take them away, my rational being twofold. Firstly, it's a council tree and secondly, I'm not prepared to 'pay' to have them removed which I would do if I put them in my regular collection or filled my greenwaste bin with them. I suspect there are far more leaves than just one bag or binful too. I can use some of them to mulch some garden but there would still be an awful lot of leaves left. And worse...... there are still quite a few leaves which haven't fallen yet so I'll be on raking duties again before too long.

Rant over........I'll call the council tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.