Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Richmond Park Half Marathon

Last night I watched many of the performances at Glastonbury on TV, it looked like such fun and I said to Gavin that maybe one year we should go to it...until I came to my senses a few moments later at the thought of sleeping in an uncomfortable tent cheek by jowl with drunk/high people and not having any access to a clean toilet. I think I am more of a Glyndebourne kind of gal! I watched most of the Guns and Roses performance, they were the main headline act last night, but in fact they were outshone by Lizzo who drew a greater crowd. When I say I watched GnR, I was really waiting for Sweet Child of Mine which I love, and bearing up through the other songs wondering why people like them! Tonight I am definitely watching Elton John perform, it will be his last performance in the UK, ever!

Today was another scorching hot day. We went to Richmond Park to watch Adam and his university friend Yusuf run the half marathon there. On the way there the news reader on the radio was saying it was going to be an extremely hot day and children and dogs were best kept indoors - I wondered if the half marathon would be cancelled, but no it went ahead as scheduled. The race was 4 laps of 5.25 kilometres within the park, and so we were able to spot Adam at various points along the way, changing our position between laps and finding a cool spot in the shade of some large oak trees. A few people collapsed in the heat and the ambulance came a few times to scoop them up. Adam was hoping to finish under 2 hours but he was waiting for his friend, who was running his first race, so he managed to finish in 2 hours and 1 minute!

We spent the rest of the day chilling at home - we had a BBQ for late lunch/early dinner at about 4.30pm, and read the papers outside on the patio. It has been a lovely relaxing weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.