Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Catbirds

And in the blink of an eye, the one in the back was gone - off doing important gray catbird business I guess.  They are beautiful birds who nest here every summer and brighten the days with their myriad of odd catlike noises and other random sounds.  

We've had some crazy weather today - heavy thunderstorms, then sun, then dark and stormy again.  I think tomorrow will be more of the same, so I will be staying close to home.  And since Jax hates the rain, I will probably set up some scent hides for him in the basement to let him burn off some energy.  

I saw my primary care doc today to try to figure out the root cause of an increasing amount of pain in both ands and wrist.  I suspect the drugs I take to reduce a recurrence of breast cancer are at the root of this, but before I have that conversation with my oncologist I want to make sure there isn't something else going on. So I got some blood work done and a chest X-ray, all intended to rule out other causes.  And while I was there, I talked to him about some neck pain too - it's been going on for months and while it doesn't impact the quality of my life the way my hands do, it's annoying.  I suspect physical therapy will help but first I had to get a scan of the vertebrae done so just waiting on results for that now.  So, in that regard, it has been a productive day.  

Because my hands were so difficult today, I set the z8 up on a tripod and worked on that.  I'm clumsy with a tripod and much prefer to handhold whatever I'm shooting with, but as time marches on, I know I need to get better with using support, like a tripod,.  Speaking of the z8, there is already a recall on it - it seems that a very small number of cameras have a faulty lens connection so Nikon is recalling almost all of the cameras to check them out and replace whatever.  I have had no issues mounting lenses so I will wait a while to send it in.  I want to get through hummingbird "season" before I give up the 20+ fps for a few weeks!  

I had a small square of dark with almonds and sea salt today - very tasty.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.