curns' corner

By curns

Richmond

Very warm stood on the platform on the way to the office. I do not like commuting in his heat. Fortunately, my new route means a seat and there’s only a short walk at the Staines end. As I was crossing the road opposite the office entrance I heard my name being called. Colleagues were in the coffee shop ordering. I went and automatically placed my order but was told it’s already been done. It’s a good team. 

About 4:30pm I was getting messages wondering where Daniel was. He was due in to the office to return some gear and then we’d head out for his leaving drinks; but nobody had heard from him. Just as I was messaging him, we looked out of the window and saw him crossing the road. He’d taken the train because of the drinks and came in a little later.  After a few minutes, a group of us headed for The Swan, a nice pub with a river view (the same one we went to with the engineers a few weeks ago). 

The evening was lovely with a good turn out. I think leaving events must be more difficult post-COVID with fewer people in an office. Whatever the event, it’s hard to motivate to leave the house just for evening drinks. There was a nice presentation and it was good to see one of our ex-colleagues who also joined us.

About 10:45pm we left.  Some of us walked to Staines station and took a short ride to Richmond where we had a beer at a pub by the station before I got a train home. 

A throughly lovely evening. I hope it was seen as a decent send-off. Personally, I will really miss his clear, but practical, vision (which he had no issues adjustin

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.