Coffee or tea?

A good start to the week. We had another meeting at work about the way in which we are developing the Clash Management feature as a follow-up to the meeting I had with Peter on Friday.  Development believes there is a way forward I and really should write up the next phase but it’s one of those tasks that I know will have to be rewritten once I know what has been developed so I am not inspired to do it. It does all seem remarkably similar to the last discussion about this but it’s always valuable to keep talking. 

We finally decided wha we would do about this weekend on The Island and the decorating that we need to do. PY will go on Wednesday and I will head down on Thursday. So I was able to book the train and, again, I opted for the slightly earlier one in case there are any difficulties. I really don’t want to miss the ferry connection.  I think this might be the last time we have to head down from London before the later ferries are introduced and that will take a considerable amount of stress from the journey as there will be a couple of later alternatives.

When I finished work I noticed I had two mugs on the table.  At the moment I am a coffee person in the morning and switch to tea around lunch time. Normally, I take the coffee cup to the kitchen when I get lunch and return with the team mug. For some reason I did not follow that pattern today and I ended up with both of them sat there at 6pm. What’s very noticeable in the picture is that neither is empty. For some reason I have never been able to completely empty my mug.  I’ve always believed it comes from when I first started drinking tea when I was much younger and we had loose tea rather than tea bags. The little bit of liquid at the bottom of the cup contained any stray tea leaves that had made their way through the strainer.  And, even though one of the cups is coffee, I have never shaken this behaviour.

I find it very interesting as I react in the opposite way when it comes to food on the plate; I am one of those people that clears their plate and feels uncomfortable leaving uneaten food.  I wonder how the environment in which you grow up impacts this because my mum is the same when it comes to food (I don’t think she’s the same with tea).

I kept telling myself - and PY - that I was going to the gym this evening but I couldn’t get up enthusiasm so, after dinner, we caught up on the Amazon Prime series, The Rig. I think we will finish the series tomorrow.

Interestingly, there was a mug photo about this time last year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.