Almost sunset

Today was one of those days when my conference calls all ran on longer than they were scheduled. And, for the first time in a while, a number of them were back-to-back to I found myself hopping from one to another. If I am honest, I have missed this more frantic pace of work.  As I settle in to the new job then my days are getting busier and, with that, I start to enjoy it a more.

Being busier than some other days meant that I was in a bit of rush to get all my things together to leave the house for my 5:15pm train to Guildford and onwards to Portsmouth Harbour, Luckily, as I now have a lot of what I need on The Island, I can grab and go,  PY had asked for a baking tray - so we can try the new oven - and I needed a few decorating bits as we have painting plans for this weekend.

The journey itself was pretty uneventful and started with the promise a beautiful sunset, as seen from platform 4 at Raynes Park. At this time of day it’s standing onboard the train until after Worcester Park but that’s not too long as I was able to settle in a listen to ‘Landing’ a Podcast hosted by Alastair Campbell and Rory Steward. Their guest was Michel Barnier, Chief Negotiator, Task Force for the Preparation and Conduct of the Negotiations with the United Kingdom (aka Brexit) and it was really interesting to hear his viewpoint now negotiations are long concluded. 

Another swift change at Guildford was required, although this week the train wasn’t sat in the platform waiting, and then a delayed journey onwards. As we were more and more delayed there was the usual shift of people to the front carriage (in which I was sat) so that, at Portsmouth Harbour, they can jump off and run for the ferry connection.   The doors opened with a just two minutes to sailing and there was a sprint down the ramp to the Wightlink terminal.  We all made the boat.

PY met me at Ryde Pier and we walked back to the flat. He’d got dinner in and we had a relaxing evening. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.