Real flame

Working from The Island is quite different because the days are more relaxed. I spent the day in the room that I am using as an office. PY was next door applying an undercoat and, later, the first coat of the grey paint we are using for the flat. It’s the same paint that I used on my office at home so we brought the remainder of that with us. We are now, more-or-less, out of paint so we’ll be heading to B&Q tomorrow for a new tin.  

I did manage to get some personal admin done: I have successfully navigated the Spanish banks website to pay for a motor for the sun awning at the apartment. Dad’s been nagging me to do it so that, when they go over on a few weeks, they can make sure it’s been done. I very nearly paid the accountant instead of the awning company so I am glad I checked at the last second. 

The paint that PY is applying started with the living room. It’s quite small so, even though we don’t have much furniture, we can’t really move it around to allow us to eat until this coat is dry.  We decided to leave it to try and head to The Ryde Castle for lasagne and a bottle of red wine. I am £50 down but it was nice start to the evening. On the way back we stopped off at The Star Coffee & Ale House on High Street. It’s a wonderful pub that we found last time we were here and it was very nice to be able to show our faces again. The real fire is very comforting. 

On the way home PY spoke to Jo to plan for Trevor’s 80th. When we got in we managed to remove some of the plastic from the furniture to give us a seat so we could have tea, biscuits and settle in to watch the Kate Bush documentary. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.