Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Mosses!

Friend Cathy left today… ( in her white truck ..extra) .a guest who knows, understands and appreciates this island and its quirks.  She has no regrets selling her place after her husband died, but it’s really impossible  to get the island out of your soul.  She takes some very beautiful ICM camera images so got me thinking again about using such for backgrounds….for the 3 kinds of moss on the rock I blipped here.  The blip is the one on the right.   The rock with its lush carpet is in the extra of that blip.    

l’ll bet there are more than 3 but these are obvious.  and so different.  the middle one about 4 inches.   The whole plant world and its identification is beyond me but today I learned about rhizoids and waterbears, ( or “moss piglets”) which mostly live in mosses. .   HERE   is an article about waterbears written for kids that I liked...an amazing creature.   Now I wish I had a big  microscope ….but I’ll keep looking with the little magnifiers and the camera phone. and try for better photos...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.