Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Otter

This morning on a whim I decided to go to the London Wetlands Centre. I have never been there before and have been planning to go there for a while now, so today was the day. It's only about 30 minutes from our house, so it was an easy journey there.

They have many fascinating species of unusual ducks, things like white faced whistling ducks, American wood ducks, eider, pochard, teals, and some geese too including Hawaiian geese (nenes). And they have a pair of Asian otters who were very cute and entertaining. As expected there were many school groups there, but I managed to enjoy taking photos as it was not at all crowded. One little school boy asked me why the heron was standing on one leg - he had asked his teacher and she had no idea (she did not even know it was a heron), so he asked me - I was able to identify the bird for him but did not know the answer to that one!

Then an afternoon of editing photos and taking Xena for another walk. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.