pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Pressure Cooker

Had to spend another day in the office today. 

I’ve joked about it, but the continuing absence of the internet at home has really started to grate on me. How sad that we become so dependent on these things, but it does make me think that maybe those who adapt to a life off the grid may be onto something. I hate being so dependent on something completely out of my control!

The pressure at work is immense - my head feels “like a powder keg about to explode” (unfortunately there is no else to lighten the load) - and continues to build as more and more is asked of us to ease the burden on other parts of the business who were poorly managed and were the root cause of the additional pressure in the first place! 

I worked solidly for the morning before realising that my head was spinning and I needed to take a break, so took a short walk down the neighbouring canal path and under the M6 where this tiny little mouse caught my eye. I saw it before it saw me and so I watched it for a short time as it foraged. Naturally, as soon as I took my phone out, it moved away, hence I only was able to capture its backside.

Ploughing on in the afternoon, I got things to as good a place as I could and headed for home, where I immediately donned my running gear for the first time in a couple of weeks (turned my ankle over a couple of weeks back) and headed out with the Beastie Boys blasting in my ears.

It was a slow, lethargic effort, but one that I really needed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.