pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Dash

Like a fool, I thought I was getting away with something today, with a visit to London for a couple of client meetings.

I could just put the out of office on and focus on the job in hand. Wrong-o! Despite being on the move, I was constantly on the phone and liaising with the office. It is times like these where our lack of depth and experience really begins to tell. We have a team meeting coming up and were asked if there were any items we wanted adding to the agenda - I made a few suggestions.

The first meeting went well, really well actually, as I was dreading it. Video calls are great, but there is no substitute for in-person interactions and being able to read body language and facial expressions. 

My next appointment was in Soho, so in full President Business mode (laptop bag slung over shoulder/phone pressed to ear) I took in the delights of Carnaby Street as I wandered around to find a place to refuel and have a much needed comfort break.

The second meeting went great too, right up to the point where two relationships I had carefully cultivated over the last two years were quickly dashed as I was told that both parties were leaving the business. Regardless, we parted on good terms and in good time, which meant a quick dash bake up Bakerloo to Euston and I was able to get the - surprisingly empty - earlier train home.

In between trying to answer some emails (when the signal allowed), I dozed fitfully as we whipped through the countryside back home to a soggy and humid Kendal.

All of this I completely failed to capture with any photography outside of an idle shot whilst riding an escalator at…..lets’s say; Waterloo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.