Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Blue light

No, not that sort of blue light!

Today is Big Sis's birthday and tomorrow is Little Sis's birthday so at lunchtime the four of us - my sisters, my bro and me - met up at The Bush at Ovingdon for a siblings lunch.  And what fun we had!

My way of getting there was a bus to the village of Itchen Stoke and then a short walk along the river and over the footbridge into the pub garden.  However, the times the buses ran meant that I had the odd half hour to get my blip.  I chose to go for this church, St Mary's, Itchen Stoke, which is now described as 'redundant' and under the care of the Churches Conservation Trust.  As you can see, it's 19th century Gothic, long, thin and sitting high above the road.  Really a quite extraordinary building to have erected as a tiny community's parish church.

This shot was taken just below the altar, looking back to the west door.  I've tagged it for BobsBlips' WidWed challenge (this week hosted by steveng - thanks Steven) because of the quality of the light.  The challenge theme is 'Blue' and I discovered, trying to blip it, that although you would probably call the stained glass predominantly red, overall the light in the church was blue.  I tried changing the camera settings to correct this but nothing worked - the plain plaster still looks blue and it really wasn't!

If any of you are ever this way, it's recommended viewing.  (The Bush is worth visiting too ;)))

Have a happy evening  xx

PS: WFW23_12 results will be in my journal tomorrow evening

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.