Kentboy

By Kentboy

Rydal Water.

A change of place today from the normal views around Keswick.  As you can see it was dry, but rain was never far away looking at the clouds.  One minute warm sunshine and the next clouds. This is another place I haven't be to for ages, probably 
the last time was with my wife and when our children were small, so that is a long time ago.  There is a big cave to see which is always wet and today people were swimming in there.  People were also swimming in the lake too.  On my walk down I notices two more caves which explains the sign posts saying 'Rydal Caves.'  I only thought there was just this large one.  Learning again and a good walk too.  
Today was a day when there was very little ache in the knee and this continuing to be the case during the walk.  I thought I would challenge myself to see if I could manage inclines and declines and I did.  These were just short ones thought.  I didn't slip on unsteady stones so the knee wasn't 'jarred.'

Tiny frogs were warming themselves on a slab before hiding in gaps in the wall.  To tiny so no photo.  In that regard I didn't have a camera to photo a blackbird fee her offspring-nearly as big as her; and neither did I have my camera (driving) when I turned the corner and saw this gull trying to carry a dead blackbird in it beak.  Had the gull killed it or had it been hit by a can, who knows.
Just as well I wasn't out all day as scaffolders arrived, unannounced, to prepare for work on the roof starting next week and windows and cladding 10 days later.  Don't be alarmed if flowers are blipped when this happens.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.