Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Sunrise

I'm glad to have gotten this picture early because the rest of the day felt like a gut punch. I saw Dr. Riniker, my podiatric surgeon, for the last time before she flees southern Arizona. As I mentioned the other day, and which she confirmed, I have a stress fracture in my right foot. While it's not as severe as an acute fracture, and thankfully doesn't need surgery, she said it can take as long or longer for the bone to heal. Her first inclination was to ask if I had a scooter. My heart dropped. I told her that I don't trust my balance. So, that was out.
Her directions:
STAY OFF IT - STAY OFF IT - STAY OFF IT.  She was pretty clear on that.
Not only must I stay off of it, as much as humanly possible, I have to wear the boot for at least another SIX weeks. Really  wear it, with the obvious exception of showering. Take it off just as I'm getting into bed and put it on the moment I get out of bed.

I didn't dare ask her about driving. The answer to that is pretty obvious but in the absence of a waiter/waitress I don't have much choice.  The people I know best (frenquaintances) are aware of my situation, but alas....

Oh, well. It is what it is so no need for me to get disheartened or bitter.
--------------------------------------------

My son wanted to know what it was like to be a parent.
So I woke him at 2am to tell him my sock came off.


I liked that one  *tee hee*

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.