carliewired

By carliewired

91 F/ 33C

It's the start of a
holiday weekend - it is
Canada's birthday!

~carliewired

I was on my laptop this morning paying my property taxes online. It is a once-a-year agony. Then, at 6, I was on my way to Riverside Park downtown. 

I walked in by Heritage House. A senior was making his way in  with his scooter at the same time. I paused near the playground to release my special Canada Day quilted heart. The man stopped near the big trees and pulled open a bag of peanuts. Two squirrels began bopping around the area, zooming through the playground equipment, then coming to the man for their treats. He explained that one squirrel would come right up on his lap and reach into the bag, while the other would only take peanuts from the ground. Each squirrel would then run up the tree to store the peanuts in their nest. It was fun to watch. 

I walked to the end of the pier to get a shot of my mountains, the Overlander Bridge and the confluence. 

There was a lot of staff working in the park this morning. Tomorrow is our national day so they are making sure everything is clean and shiny. I was surprised to see a city vehicle on the beach below the Rivers Trail. They must do a sweep to ensure the sand is safe. A man was power washing the picnic tables and benches. Someone was giving the washrooms/toilets a going-over. Tomorrow, the park will be a hive of activity. 

I'm home with my drive-thru breakfast and coffee. I will be home with my feet up again today. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.