Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Newbie

Another new (for me) insect in my garden today - something in the Genus Lopidea.  Although I tried to narrow it down further, I hit a wall as there are several species that would be in this range and look pretty much identical.  I'm happy with getting this one to a genus, to be honest.  

I shot this with the rental lens (24-200 f/4-6.3) which I took out for a trial spin this afternoon.  I haven't fully warmed up to it yet, but that's mainly because I am used to either macro for bugs or long for birds and this sits squarely in the middle.  I took some pics of Jax with it - one in Extra - and think it's the perfect length lens for dog pics.  For the Lopidea shot, I put a Raynox105 on the lens which allowed me to get closer to the insect but also made the image less sharp.  Trade offs.  Anyway, my plan is to try to get some action shots with Jax tomorrow using this lens.  

Speaking of Jax...he had an unexpected trip to the vet today because we found a sore on his belly last night and wanted the vet to have a look at it.  Okay, if I'm being honest, I was kind of freaked out thinking that it might have been a bot fly.  It wasn't.  Anyway, he is just fine and while we were there, we updated his bordatella.  

It is smoky again today - not quite as bad as yesterday but not particularly pleasant either.  And also hot and humid.  Summer.

I had a small square of dark with almond today.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.