Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Guess?

It may surprise some of you to know that this odd looking creature is a moth, in the Family Pterophoridae (Plume Moths).  There are about 160 distinct species of Plume Moths in North America, this one (Himmelman's Plume Moth) is common in our area.  Their flight season is fairly short and this is typically the only time of year I see them.  They are pollinators so I often find them on buddleia and milkweed in my garden.  This species is quite small, barely a half inch wing-tip to wing-tip.  Notice that the rear legs are extended down, framing the abdomen.  I wish I'd had the lens on a monopod as this could be a bit sharper, but I'm trying not to be so self-critical these days.  Some pictures are good, a few are great and others are good enough.  

Jax and I went out for a walk early, before the heat cranked up.  He behaved quite well, due in part of having the prong collar on.  We did a little obedience training and a lot of sniffing (him, not me).  Then a little playing/training inside before he retired to his favorite napping spot on the sofa.  I did a virtual yoga class at 11 so am feeling very good now - it makes a really noticeable difference in my nagging little age-related aches and pains.  

I spent some time outside with two cameras hung around my neck which was fun.  The Great Golden Digger Wasps are emerging from their nests in our back sidewalk (to my husband's everlasting horror) so I spent some time watching them.  They've only been out a few days but are already bringing in prey (katydids) to provision their nests for next year's diggers. As my interest in entomology has grown over the years, so has my appreciation for wasps, especially the big solitary wasps.  They are fascinating to watch and are generally extremely docile, only stinging if roughly handled.  And, I am happy to say that Jax hasn't shown any particular interest in them - thank goodness.  

Keeping in close contact with my parents, hoping that their recovery continues to go well. 

Jax continues to be on high alert for bears - or anything else he deems to be a clear and imminent danger.  Today one of the neighbor's cats wandered into out yard and Jax was full hackles, growling, barking and basically acting like he'd seen a mountain lion.  The cat was gone in a flash and probably traumatized for life.  Later, Jax seemed to think we might have something dangerous in the garage and was growling ferociously at the door.  Then he brought me a shoe.  I guess he thought I might need it.  Silly dog.

Dark with sea salt today.

xo
Debbi     

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.