Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

We Did It!

All the stars aligned last night and Jax was able to pass the Canine Good Citizen test (even though we still think it was a bit a lot of luck.). There was only one other dog (Luka) from our class taking the test and he's a very mellow pup which affected Jax's energy level in a good way.  And since it was after 7 the store where the test was done wasn't busy (aka almost no shoppers or other dogs).  The only close call we really had was when Jax got over-interested in the stuffed toys in the aisle we were testing in.  Of course, no treats could be used so it was all on me to get him focused back on the work.  

Initially I was going to have Hubs do the test with Jax but once we were ready to go, Hubs gently urged me to take Jax.  I'm glad he did because I've been doubting myself recently when it comes to training our stubborn dog. It helped to get a "win".  I'm proud of Jax, but I also know there are many more hours of training ahead of us.  He's a smart dog, but also a very stubborn one and I suspect the training will never really end.  But its a great bonding exercise for all of us and it's the least we can do for our big bundle of brindle love.

In other good news, I FaceTimed with Mom and Dad this morning and they are both looking very good.  Mom said she's still got some aches and pains and Dad is definitely feeling the fatigue, but the antiviral drugs (and being fully vaxxed and twice-boosted) have done their jobs.  Thank God. They are, of course, following all CDC guidelines and will remain isolated for probably another week.  

I thought I might get out on the water today, but the morning got away from me and now it's quite hot and sticky so I'm just going to take it easy.  I have some zinnia plants that need to go in the garden, but there is no point doing it when it's this hot and sunny out so maybe in the morning...

We watched some of the recap of the J6 hearings.  I wish I thought it would make any difference, but I can't see how this is going to change anything.  Those who think that man can do no wrong will not change their minds; and neither will those of us who think he is a dangerous menace to democracy.  In a different time and place, maybe there would have been consequences, but in this case, I don't see it happening.  

So I am going to go admire our blue ribbon, watch the comings and goings in the yard, and not watch anymore news today.  And I'm going to indulge in something dark and delicious.  And kiss my dog right on his cold little nose!

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.