Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Elderberry Borer

I just happened to see this rather large beetle fly into our cherry tree while I was standing around outside with a macro lens on the z8.  And I did what any self-respecting photographer would do - I darted over and fired off some pics while holding the branch as close to level as I could manage and standing on my tippy toes.  The body of this beetle is 18-26mm long (3/4 to 1 inch) and with the iridescent blue body and the bright orangish yellow "cape", it's hard to miss.  And yet, I have never seen one before.  We don't have elderberries on our property but I learned that they will dine on other nectar so perhaps he was attracted by all the milkweed blooming right now.  The larval stage of the beetle eats elderberry, hence the common name.  Latin name is Desmocerus palliatus.

Other than this fine specimen, I also saw my first Great Golden Digger wasp on the patio, freshly dug out of her tunnel and ready to start the life cycle all lover again.  Every summer, I have a love fest with these huge wasps so get ready for some photos.  Also saw a Four-toothed mason wasp who appeared to have grabbed a tiny spider on the milkweed, which is odd since the adults usually only eat nectar.  I have an inquiry on my favorite entomology page to see what the experts have to say.  In Extra is a Brown belted bumble bee, the first I've recorded this year.  All three of my milkweed species are blooming now so the pollinators are starting to gather - color me thrilled!

Jax has been at day care all day where he is no doubt having a blast with his girlfriend, Sasha.  After I dropped him off, my plan was to drive north to where the purple Martens nest and try for some flight shots.  However, the smoke from the wildfires in Canada have made their way back into our area and the sky, while not the nasty yellow of several weeks ago, is still thick with hazy smoke.  You can taste it and it would not be conducive to capture birds in flight at any distance.  So, a day pottering around the garden instead which was just perfect.  

I heard from the lens rental company and they are delivering my lens tomorrow even though the clock doesn't start until Monday - so 3 bonus days!  I look forward to putting it through its paces.  

Dark with blood orange today.  One square.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.