Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Race

As a diversion on my way home from work I headed up to Ilkley to watch the 2023 Ilkley Cycle Races which form part of British Cycling’s National Circuit Series.

The races follow a 1.5km closed circuit, with the start/finish on the Grove, a steep climb up into the south side of town before a rapid descent back down to Grove Road.

I was in time to catch the last three races, the Men’s 2/3/4 race, the Women’s Grand Prix and Men’s Grand Prix. During the Women’s Grand Prix I walked the full circuit, and today’s image captures leaders in that race near the high point of the course at the end of Parish Ghyll Drive. See extras for the scene along the start/finish straight, with the start of the Men’s 2/3/4.

It was my first visit to the event but a good way to spend an evening, so I’ll be watching out for its return next year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.