Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Defying Gravity

Sadly, the weather mitigates against relaxing or even wandering in the garden, but a visit from a young squirrel provides both entertainment and blip opportunities this afternoon. G has a love-hate relationship with these garden visitors; each year, they seem to defeat ‘squirrel-proof’ feeders with relative ease, and so he launches on his annual battle to defeat their trickery. Bird feeders become Heath Robinson devices protected by old wire hanging baskets, sticks and chains.  Each morning he inspects his latest defences, anticipating success before he realises that yet again he’s met his nemesis; the squirrel has defeated him. 

Today, it’s simply a case of watching squirrel antics from the conservatory. As usual, there’s a sequence of acrobatic feats, with the addition of some rather amusing moments when this little creature seems to realise that it’s close to falling when it’s been just that bit too daring with manoeuvres! 

Other than this, I have a visit to the surgery for initial tests related to the early stages of cardio-vascular disease picked up from one of my scans - that’s the problem with so many of these tests; they reveal things you never knew you had! Then there’s another phone call from the nursing manager at the hospital with a further update on measures taken as a result of my complaint. I must admit, I’m quite surprised by just how seriously they’re taking things; I shouldn’t be, but I think we’ve all got used to a culture where nothing ever gets done. 

Thanks so much for your kind response to yesterday’s mono teasels. Today’s offering is a squirrel ‘set’ - my usual indecision I’m afraid! I’m not sure whether this is the best shot, but I love the expression in the squirrel’s face! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.