Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Harnessing the Wind

I’m relatively happy to have a day of clouds and intermittent drizzle; after all, it means I don’t feel I’m missing out on summer treats - although I’m pretty sure I’ll soon get tired of the greyness if it continues for more than a few days. Besides,  once again, we’re blessed with a break in the clouds towards the evening and I just about manage a walk along West Shore. 

The tide is far, far out - my favourite time. If I was at my best, I’d be walking down to the distant water’s edge, but as it is, I stay high up on the shore, looking out at the tiny silhouettes of wind surfers against a glistening sea. And to be honest, I quite like this distant view across the water, Anglesey’s shore line and the Carneddau as a hazy backcloth. 

My main’s a father and child walking on a sandbank carrying a sun-illuminated sail caught by the wind.  The rather ugly structure to the left is the rescue raft in place to aid anyone stranded on the sandbanks as the tide comes in - sadly, not an uncommon occurrence despite clear warnings on the shore. There are extras of sails against the hazy hills, and another of a father and child - probably the same ones - as the sails are launched into the air. I like to think the surfer is the mother. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.