Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

Budding botanist

Same old, same old! Sunshine and showers! More pictures, more London ramblings! I had William the step-maker here to do one or two things and after he'd gone I went out to see what he'd done and Susie followed me. 
 
I thought I'd do a plant Blip, so chose a pot and put it up on the deck fence. Susie jumped up and posed with it. I explained to her that the plant was a fern and a very rare one at that, but she didn't appear to be impressed even when I told her that Thyrsopteris elegans is the only living species of the Thyrsopteridaceae, a family of tree ferns that was diverse and widespread during the Mesozoic. I don’t think she understood, so I explained that being endemic to the Juan Fernández Islands it could not be found anywhere else in the world, but she merely sniffed and ran off! Some cats!
 
After lunch I thought I should stir myself and go out, so I waited for the current shower to end and set off down town. Quite surprised to see people walking about in tee-shirts, but then I suppose it's not very cool to wear a waterproof! Went to Homebase for a refill box of fat balls - and the heavens opened! Really opened! In the Homebase garden centre it was ten times noisier than anywhere else, as they have a plastic roof! The fat ball box wouldn’t fit in my backpack, so I had to pinch a bag and carry it home. Just managed to make it home before the sun came out! Taking the car next time I want to go for a walk!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.