A day in the life

By Shelling

Variation

One of my challenges in concerts is remembering lyrics. Partly it's difficult because I also has to remember what to play and if I'm playing a demanding arrangement, I have to rely on that either the music or the lyrics is automatic. The brain is like a computer, it can only process one thing at a time, one of its tasks has to be automatic while the brain is occupied with the other thing. I've used the morning to learn the lyrics for some songs, I tend to have the most difficulty with those.

The weather is dreadful at the moment, a bit chilly and constantly swinging from blazing sun to thunderstorms in an instant. A sudden rain shower has has just passed eastwards and is followed by blue skies.

This evening I listened to Per Harling, a brother of Bengt Harling, who is the singer in the various constellations I'm in. Per is a priest, as well as a composer of, mostly, hymns. He's written over a thousand psalms or hymns up to this day and he was visiting my nearest church to talk about his work and to sing some of his songs together with us. It was interesting to hear him give a background to his songs and he has a very good sense for making catchy melodies and his words go well both in sacral as well as secular context.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.