Onwards and upwards....

By Yana1

3110. Puffin

I bought a pad of watercolour outlines of wild life ages ago and thought I’d try one of them this afternoon.  The pad just has some simple almost pencil drawn outlines for you to fill in with watercolour, so it’s not strictly my drawing, just my painting!  I used a new palette of metallic watercolours, (also something else I bought ages ago too!) and I’m really pleased with the result.  I’m sure I could have drawn this outline myself but it certainly helped having a basic outline to follow.

I spent two hours FaceTiming my sister in Australia this morning and what a laugh we had!  We chatted about everything under the sun as well as talking a bit more about our planned visit there next year, I can’t wait until that comes around.  It’s so good to be able to do this every so often and it just feels like she’s right here, apart from the wine she had compared to my coffee!

Hubby and I headed out for a long walk (in the pouring rain!) this morning before lunch and we got soaked despite both having umbrellas, we went out this morning because the forecast said the rain was on for the day, but here I am sitting in our lounge and the sun is shining and the ground has dried up!

I had an interesting letter this morning from the NHS about the Diabetes Prevention Programme that I have just completed.  It was a 9 month programme and I have to say it was excellent, well supported and really effective, (providing of course you actually do everything they suggest - which I did!).  They have asked me to go for a check up after the programme to see what impact it has had on my health…but they didn’t see me before the start of the programme so I’m not sure how useful this follow up will be to see whether or not it has had an impact on my health.  I guess all they will get is anecdotal evidence from me which seems a bit of a wasted opportunity to be honest which is such a shame as the programme has literally transformed my life.  I’m fitter and healthier than I’ve ever been and I can feel the difference in every aspect of my wellbeing.  I’m lighter too, something which I’ve previously struggled with and the process has been so straightforward, just lifestyle changes and increasing activity.  I now do some sort of proper exercise class online three times a week without fail and daily strengthening exercises with small weights too.  My step count has doubled and I’m two dress sizes smaller…now that’s a result!  I do feel that they could have assessed the impact of this programme in a much more controlled way as it wasn’t free to the NHS, (they used a company called Oviva to deliver it).  Oh well, I’ll get my appointment and see what they say……

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.