Bom

By Bom

A Missed Delivery

This Swallow fledgling looked mightily annoyed at missing a food delivery! There are 4 hides out on the marshes at Cley, and swallows were nesting inside several of them. I hadn't realised when I opened the door into the first hide, several windows were open, and suddenly a swallow was flying round the hide and the fledgling was on an open window calling to be fed. I stayed in the doorway and took a few photos, including one in Extras of a successful food delivery. In another hide I was taking photos of groups of birds on an island, I think they're little egrets, but it looks when I editing a photo that there's a Spoonbill in the back on the left (Extra). In another hide there were several people, then again I noticed a Swallow fly in and saw a nest up in the rafters. I sat on the bench and took several photos of the chicks from a few metres away as the parents fed them (Extra). I couldn't believe that one man went right over to the nest and stuck his mobile phone close over the chicks to take a photo - unbelievable! The paths were full of puddles after c19mm of rain overnight.

An enjoyable afternoon watching the tennis at Wimbledon. I don't agree with the way Just Stop Oil protest, but I do agree we need to do considerably more to try to avoid a climate catastrophe. I do appreciate them using jigsaws and confetti to bring attention to their cause at Wimbledon in a way that didn't harm the grass courts, rather than the orange powder they have been using. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.