Incredibish

By Incredibish

Boo!

Janet and I went out for a walk in the local meadows at Damery, and of course being a bit feeble at the moment I didn't take the big camera. The meadow was absolutely full of soldier beetle orgies; it seemed every floret had a hundred actively engaged couples and occasionally triples!

We put up a scarlet tiger butterfly, which was tremendously beautiful with it's bright red hindwing and black and creamy yellow forewing, and I tracked it across the meadow but of course... didn't have my camera. I decided therefore to take a trip back after lunch, but without any real hope, which turned out to be an accurate prediction.

Nevertheless, bundles of beautiful and banded demoiselles and a few late mayflies drifted along the river's edge. Hard to catch them in flight, but then I spotted one sat on a nettle leaf. Perhaps it thought I was a bit too close and it flapped its wings at me as if to say, "Boo! Back off, pal!"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.