On the road...

By johnsmiley1321

You can't unteach stupidity..

Been one of those days at work... At my last customer they decided for whatever reason to go back to the way they were doing things years ago.. So they went from have oodles of room to back in a trailer to just 5 feet to spare. Truckers consider one foot to spare oodles of room so... Anyhow on this day, a receiving day - they don't on the weekends - to paint the outside of the building. There are two ways to back in, first is to blindside off a U.S 4 lane highway - NO that's against company policy for obvious reasons - or drivers side through the employee parking lot around a building. Well a bucket truck was on the corner and there was no way I could get around it. Took about 30 minutes of text and phone calls before it was moved so I could unload. When I stepped back outside I saw a truck go into the wrong driveway blocking my access to leave AND his back end of the trailer was blocking a lane on that highway - several near misses. I had to park in the employees lot and wait for him before I could head for home.. 

One of the pet peeves I have is all the stupid things I see drivers doing on the highway everyday. From speeding, to cutting people off, to racing around vehicles, to no turn signal and..   Anyhow two recent videos I had to watch recently. The first - a driver dropped an open bottle of water on the floor of the cab while driving down a city street. He decided to try and pick it up. Well he didn't see the red light, t-boned a car and killed someone. We are taught over and over to never leave anything of importance on the cab floor - I have spilled coffee more times than I would like to admit but I do nothing until the vehicle is stopped - like commonsense would say to do.  The second? A drivers girlfriend broke up with him a few days before. Instead of telling his dispatch he was "lost and needed time off", he was driving down the highway, using Facebook and didn't see traffic was stopped. A family of four will never go home again. That driver is also in jail now.

Both of these drivers work for the same company I do. Neither driver was new. Both had extensive safety training. And yet through bad judgement they...

When the speed limit sign says 70 mph, no it isn't okay to do 80 mph because everyone else is. Slow down for the cone zone - construction areas. On one section of I-5 there is a wreck a day - 50 mph and yet most are doing well above that. (Fife curve). Give ALL emergency personal oodles of room. In almost every state now there is a move over law requiring you to slow way down or change lanes. And...

Oh and hug your loved ones. You may do everything right but the person in the car / truck next to you might not be...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.