Blush response

By Esper

It's A Beautiful Day In This Neighbourhood

On This Day In History
1865: Mary Surratt is the first woman executed by U.S. federal government

Quote Of The Day
"Please don't let me fall."
(Mary Surratt)

Bonus Quote Of The Day
"I just felt like running."
(Forrest Gump)

A beautiful day to look around my old neighbourhood. I began with a 15km run at 07:00. I ran first the end of my old street, Forestside Avenue, then to my old friend's house on Sharpes Road. I then ran up to my primary school and then my secondary school. I then ran back down to Barton's Road, past the crematorium where my Mum was cremated, and then down the Eastleigh Road into Warblington. I then ran back through Havant Town Centre before returning to the Premier Inn in Bedhampton.

The whole run took me one hour and forty-five minutes. I am so glad I did it because it is something I have been wanting to do for a long time. So much of my life was spent here, so much of my life with my brother, and I feel this experience is somehow uniting us and bringing closure for both of us.

In the afternoon I walked up to Staunton Park, another place full of happy childhood memories. It was lovely to walk around the pond, eat a picnic and read my book. So peaceful and relaxing.

I went back into Havant Town Centre before returning to the Premier Inn and I bought many of the items which my wife asked me to bring back from England.

Won't You Be My Neighbour?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.