pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Figs

We have had a busy day today in the Gibbs household, with many miles covered. Henry was out by 7.30 on his bike to Snettisham where he wanted to see and photograph a murmeration. (Is that how it is spelt?) He had done his research. We are waiting to see the photos, but he was able to use the tripod we bought him for his birthday.

Mollie was working at Hatters today, and was up as we were heading out to Cambridge. We visited my old work friend Polly and her husband Richard who live in Burwell. Had a couple of hours catching up with them, and took away an old treadmill. From there we went to Anglesey Abbey for lunch. I also bought a verbena. I'm trying again - it will be my third! Must try to keep it alive.

Then we drove to Jon's parents where we had a chat for an hour or so, then had a slow drive home (the A11 at Abington was closed,so we had to take all the little back roads to Newmarket)

Mollie had started a fry up tea and we brought back mushrooms and bacon. I did a bit of dead heading in the garden, and admired my figs. I have lots but none ripe yet. My dad's rose looks lovely but has a bad case of black spot. I'll treat it tomorrow and remove the bad leaves. It is falling over with the weight of blooms.

At 9 I sat down to start piecing my shorts together. Am having difficulty getting the tension right, but I think it's the fine slippery material. I'm not rushing it,but hope to do a bit more tomorrow. If I didn't have a shed load of other jobs, I could finish them tomorrow but my pink cotton is running out! So ironing will be the order of the day, and may be a trip to the allotment if its cool/rainy as predicted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.