Teasel

By Teasel

Rowntree Wharf

I woke up much earlier today and eased myself into the day by reading my book  - which I am really enjoying.  Once I got up, I headed out for a walk.  I was undecided where to go, and after a false start, I headed to the walls and retraced some steps from yesterday, and took a path round by the River Foss, as I didn’t know where it went.  It took me back into town, through an area being redeveloped, with new flats and offices.  I then made my way home for breakfast.
 
We pottered around for most of the morning.  Once he appeared, BB helped Grandma move some plants around on her balcony.  She is quite sheltered by a couple of huge chestnut trees, but they also block the light, so she wanted to move things around in the hope that some will get a bit more light.  Brunch/lunch was the highlight of the day, that BB was looking forward to.  When we got to our destination, there were no tables, so we sat outside waiting on a table becoming available.  It took a bit longer than they predicted, but the wait was worth it.  BB and Grandma had huge breakfasts.  BB landed on his feet, as he got a couple of things from Grandma’s plate.  I had a fancy veggie “breakfast roll”, which had so much on it, I didn’t know where to start.  It was delicious.  We then had a look in a couple of lovely shops and wandered back home.  I pottered, read my book and prepped tea.
 
Later we headed out again, this time to the cinema to see the new Indiana Jones film.  The teen loved it, the octogenarian loved it, and I at least managed to stay awake!!  It was then home for a late tea and a late river wander.  It was very calm as the wind had died down, but the peace was completely shattered when a young lad appeared - very drunk and playing very loud music, completely shattering the peace.
 
The building on the left is Rowntree Wharf.  The extra is a tansy beetle on a mural by the River Foss.
 
 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.