Teasel

By Teasel

The Chapter House

Last day in York, and I slept late again.  It was another grey day.  It wasn’t cold, but was windy again.  Grandma remembered that she had tickets for the Minster, left by a previous visitor and they were still valid.  I decided to make use of them, and dragged BB along with me, once I had encouraged him to get out of his bed.
 
It was great not to have to join the queue for entry, and we had a lovely wander around.  If we had had more time, we would have gone up the tower.  I have done it, but many years ago.  I’m not sure we would have got great views today though, although it had started to brighten up a bit, by the time we left.  We picked up a couple of things on our way home, something for TT and some flowers for Grandma.  She was waiting on us returning and had prepared a lovely lunch – which we weren’t expecting.  I can say, that we have been very well fed in York!
 
We then packed our stuff up and come mid-afternoon, we departed for the train station, after a lovely few days away.  Our train was very punctual.  The downside of our seats, is we didn’t have a window.  I just stuck my head in my book, though I was a bit disconcerted when the people sitting next to the only window I could see out of, pulled the blind down, as I had no idea where we were.  Edinburgh seemed to be at a standstill when we got in, probably because the King being in town.  Although Princes Street seemed to be a bus park, we were very lucky that we got on a bus home almost straight away.  The bus journey home gave me just enough time to finish my book. 
 
We got home to find that TT had tea prepared – another meal!   It was a lovely evening, so I popped out for a wander to walk off my surfeit of food – it was the loveliest part of the day.
 
This is the ceiling of the Chapter House at York Minster, my favourite part of the Minster
 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.