a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Brimstone and Corncockle

I missed the Southern hawker ovipositing in the little pond, by the time I'd grabbed the camera and lens I was just in time to watch her disappear onwards to the next patch of water.  Still, it was a very welcome sight and while I can't blip her for today there's a possibility that I may be able to blip some of her progeny emerging in two years time, all being well.

So instead, I went to see if there were any butterflies in the garden.  It was a bit breezy for perfect butterfly photography but I did manage to get this acceptable shot of a brimstone on the corncockle, which I rather like, once again what makes it for me are the limited colour palette and the effect of the sunlight coming through the butterfly's wings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.