Adam's Images

By ajt

Leaning

This morning my father dropped me of at the bus station, and I took the bus to Manchester. I had plenty of time in Manchester before my train and bought a sandwich and ate it in the furnace that was Piccadilly station - which was only worth being in as I could sit down.

My train to Euston was apparently full, but as it happens it turned out to not be overly full at all, though it as the older Pendolino stock so no at seat power and the A/C didn't reduce the carriage to the temperature of a fridge so better in that respect. We were delayed because of a car on fire on or near the track, so arrived late at Euston, but I made it to Waterloo station in time to get a seat on my final train of the day in plenty of time.

When I arrived in Overton I walked from the station to my friends home rather than accepting a lift as I wanted to see the village again and get some exercise. Today's back blips are a leaning tree in Little Meadow which I helped to plant in 2007, and two views of the Great North Field which faces the village and is adjacent to the meadow.

The tree is a true black poplar (Populus nigra) of some variety, and they are noted for leaning. We specifically bought it so we know it's not a hybrid which are far more common.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.